Sayali: I will not do nude or vulgar scenes

Sayali Bhagat played a poor, tormented housewife in The Train. Then, she played a lucky mascot in Good Luck and now, she will play a fun-loving TV channel head in Paying Guest. She tells about the film, her take on compromises and the casting couch and the image she wants to create for herself.



What is Paying Guest about?
Paying Guest is a comedy. Everyone, Celina, Shreyas, Riya and I have funny roles. It is a special film as there are so many characters in it. I hope the film releases soon

What is your character in the film?
I play the head of a TV channel. I tried to help all the paying guests in the movie, especially Jaaved Jaaferi. She wants them to make money so they can pay their rent. It is an interesting character and I have a funny relationship with my onscreen father.

Do you feel ignored in a multi-starrer?
It is true that in a multi-starrer, attention gets divided. But at the end of the day, if the film does well, then one doesn’t feel bad about the divided attention. It depends on the story. Comedies usually have big casts.

Tell us about your struggling days.
It is true that one has to struggle to get ahead in Bollywood. I feel that you have to struggle for everything you desire in life. I don’t think I struggled too much because I had become Miss India and started getting film offers after that. I didn’t sign films immediately as I didn’t find them interesting. I was looking for the right break and time. After a year and a half, I got my first film. Waiting is the key.

You have to make sacrifices. What do you think?
I have heard about people making hard decisions, making sacrifices and compromises. Touchwood, because of me being Miss India and my successful modeling career, I never had to worry about making sacrifices or compromises. In fact, I am happy I didn’t see this side of Bollywood. I don’t know how much of it is true. Career wise, you have to sacrifice your life at home and time with friends, as you have to give more to your career.

What do you think about the casting couch? Have you faced it or seen it?
I have not faced this in my own experiences. I wouldn’t like to say that the casting couch does not exist. A lot of my sources, actresses and models have told me about it. I have never faced anything like this, luckily.

Emraan Hashmi is synonymous with kissing. Actresses have restrictions about swimsuits and kissing scenes. What are your boundaries like?
I will not do anything that makes me uncomfortable or looks vulgar. In one of my films, I am playing a negative character, who doesn’t need weapons. I wouldn’t do a script I am not convinced of. A film cannot work on the basis of glamour, kissing or bikini scenes. People have to see all these scenes as part of the film, in a sensible way. I will always do things which are justified and sensible. I will not do nude or vulgar scenes. I want the image of a versatile and thoughtful actress who plays her characters well and intelligently.

What are your next films?

Cricket, which is a comedy too. I am the only female character with a lot of guys. My character is negative. I have a horror film called Shout that will release this year as well.
If You Liked The Posts Say It In comments !!!

Leave a comment